$4,000 maritime history book prize – shortlist announced

Every two years, the Australian National Maritime Museum, in association with the Australian Association for Maritime History (AAMH), presents the Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize. Twenty-five entries were received for the 2015 prize, from which the following have been shortlisted:

  • Dumont D’Urville: Explorer and Polymath by Edward Duyker (Otago University Press)
  • The Reef: A Passionate History by Iain McCalman (Penguin Viking)
  • Arthur Phillip: Sailor, Mercenary, Governor, Spy by Michael Pembroke (Hardie Grant)
  • Voyage to Gallipoli by Peter Plowman (Rosenberg Publishing Pty Ltd)
  • In All Respects Ready: Australia’s Navy in World War One by David Stevens (Oxford University Press)

The winner will be announced early in 2016. The museum would like to congratulate the shortlisted authors and their publishers, and to thank everyone who entered.

Nominations for the 2017 Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Prize will open in December 2016. The competition will be announced on our website, via social media and in Signals magazine. For more details on the Frank Broeze Prize and the Australian Community Maritime History Prize, see our website.

– Janine Flew, Publications coordinator and editor Signals magazine